Ye & Jay: The Five Best Boasts on “Otis”

The rhymes come hard and fast, and in the large they sound fun. I’d say there’s tad too much reliance on the base sample itself (Puffy and Sting syndrome, right?), but Kayne West and Jay-Z get a couple things correct on “Otis,” the second track we’re hearing (almost forgot about “H.A.M.”) from the much-awaited you-know-what: the swagger is back and Redding “sounds so soulful.”  As for our boys, they’re staying outta hell and jail respectively, keeping their arms out the window while cruising through town in the G-450, looking photo shoot fresh and smoking Cubanos with Casto. You know how they roll: conspicuous consumption to the max. A few sweet lines get spit in the track’s three minute span. Here are five + 1. Still can’t wait to hear “Niggas In Paris.”

1. Jay: “New watch alert: Hublots, or the big-face Rolly – I got two of those.”

2. Jay: “Looking like wealth/’bout to call the paparazzi on myself.”

3. Ye: “I made “Jesus Walks” so I’m never going to hell.”

4. Jay: “I got five passports/ain’t never going to jail.”

5. Ye: “Last week I was in my other other Benz”

6. Ye: “Sophisticated ignorance/write my curses in cursive.”

One response to “Ye & Jay: The Five Best Boasts on “Otis”

  1. Pingback: The Best Thing I Heard This Year | Tavis Smiley | PBS

Leave a Reply

