Video

RAY DAVIES TALKS TO JONATHAN COTT ABOUT “SEE MY FRIENDS” 

“See My Friends” moves from those chords to something closer to an Indian drone.

I got that idea from being in India. I always like the chanting. Someone once said to me “England is gray and India is like a chant.” I don’t think England is that gray, but India is like a long drone. When I wrote the song, I had the sea near Bombay in mind. We stayed at a hotel by the sea, and the fishermen came up at five in the morning and they were all chanting. And we went on the beach and we got chased by a mad dog – big as a donkey. 


It sounded as if you were singing about an English river.


I think it was the Indian Ocean.

MORE INTERVIEW 

MORE RAY CLIPS

Leave a Reply

